البشر يحبون الكلاب أكثر من الناس يقول العلم

هل تحب كلبك أكثر من أصدقائك؟ حسنا, لست الوحيد مثل ذلك. قام فريق من جامعة نورث إيسترن بوسطن وجامعة كولورادو بولدر بنشر دراسة فى مجلة المجتمع والحيوانات. جمع العلماء 256 طالبا جامعيا.

وقدموا تقارير إخبارية وهمية عن هجمات على طفل عمره عام واحد أو شخص يبلغ من العمر 30 عاما أو جرو صغير أو كلب يبلغ من العمر 6 أعوام. وكانت مستويات التعاطف مع الطفل,و الجرو والكلب متساوية تقريبا. وفي الوقت نفسه, تعاطف الناس مع الضحايا البالغين أقل بكثير. source

استلهمت الدراسة من قصة كلب بيتبول والذى ضرب صبي يبلغ من العمر 4 سنوات في فينيكس, أريزونا في عام 2014, مع تلقى الصبى إصابات تستلزم الجراحة التصالحية. كان لابد من التخلص من الكلب. ومع ذلك, تم إنشاء حملة لإنقاذه وخلال أسابيع, وجمعت صفحة الكلب على الفيسبوك أكثر من 40،000 إعجاب. فى حين, كانت صفحة دعم الطفل لديها حوالي 500 فقط. Four-year-old Kevin Vicenteas and a pit bull Mickey who attacked Kevin | source, source

وكان مصدر إلهام آخر هو حملة إعلانية خيرية. وأظهرت نسخة واحدة صورة مخزنة لكلب, في حين أن اخرى كانت لصبي حقيقى يعاني من شكل من أشكال ضمور العضلات. أفاد تقرير الحملة بأن عدد النقرات يتضاعف من الإعلانات مع الكلب. source

ويعتقد واضعو الدراسة الآن أن أفضل طريقة لإلهام المواقف الإنسانية في مجموعات من الناس هي التأكيد على أن الضحايا معرضون للخطر. وكتبوا "من خلال التأكيد على الضعف المشترك, بدلا من التركيز على التعرض للعنف والعدوان, يمكن للبرامج المبتكرة أن تعيد تشكيل العلاج والوقاية من الإساءة للحيوانات". source

القرار

المزيد من الإختبارات

Humans Love Dogs More Than People Says Science

Hilary Gowan

Journalist

Do you like your dog more than your friends? Well, you're not the only like that. A team from Northeastern University Boston and the University of Colorado Boulder published a study in the journal Society & Animals. The scientists gathered 256 undergraduate students.

They were presented with fake news reports on attacks on either a 1-year-old baby, a 30-year-old adult, a young puppy, or a 6-year-old dog. The empathy levels reported for baby, puppy and dog were almost equal. Meanwhile, people empathized with the adult victim a lot less.

source

The study was inspired by the story of a pit bull who mauled a 4-year-old boy in Phoenix, Arizona in 2014, with the boy receiving injuries necessitating restorative surgery. The dog was to be put down. However, a campaign was set up to save him and within weeks, the dog's Facebook page accrued more than 40,000 likes. Meanwhile, the kid's support page only had around 500.

Four-year-old Kevin Vicenteas and a pit bull Mickey who attacked Kevin | source, source

Another inspiration was a charity advertisement campaign. One version showed a stock photo of a dog, while another had a real boy suffering from a form of muscular dystrophy. The campaign reported twice as many clicks from the ads with the dog.

source

The authors of the study now suspect that the best way to inspire humane attitudes in groups of people is to underline that victims are vulnerable. "By emphasizing shared vulnerability, rather than focusing on exposure to violence and aggression, innovative programs could reshape the treatment and prevention of animal abuse,” they wrote.

source

Discussion

More Quizzes